Tar Sands Reservation.—The Tar Sands Reservation comprises four areas amounting in all to 2,068 acres in the Fort McMurray District of Alberta. These areas were reserved in 1926 for the use of the National Parks Bureau, Department of Mines and Resources, to provide a supply of tar sands for road construction in the National Parks.

## Subsection 2.—Provincial Public Lands

In the Maritime Provinces and in Quebec, Ontario and British Columbia (except the Railway Belt and the Peace River Block) the public lands have been administered by the Provincial Governments since Confederation. Since the transfer by the Dominion Government of the natural resources of the Prairie Provinces and of the sections of British Columbia mentioned (see also p. 1019 of the 1931 Year Book) public lands in all provinces have been under provincial administration. In Prince Edward Island, all the land is alienated and there are no provincial public lands.

Information regarding provincial public lands may be obtained from the following officials of the respective provinces: Minister of Lands and Forests, Halifax, N.S.; Deputy Minister of Lands and Mines, Fredericton, N.B.; Deputy Minister of Lands and Forests, Quebec, Que.; Deputy Minister of Lands and Forests, Toronto, Ont.; Director of Lands, Department of Mines and Natural Resources, Winnipeg, Man.; Director of Lands, Department of Natural Resources, Regina, Sask.; Director of Lands, Department of Lands and Mines, Edmonton, Alta.; Deputy Minister of Lands, Victoria, B.C.

## Section 2.—National Defence

In view of the rapidly changing conditions in the defence services owing to the present state of war, the descriptive material concerning the Royal Canadian Navy, the Canadian Army and the Royal Canadian Air Force usually appearing in this Section (see pp. 1078-1083 of the 1939 edition of the Year Book) has been omitted. A description of Canada's war effort will be found in the Introduction to this volume.

## Section 3.—Department of Public Works\*

The constructing department of the Dominion Government, 'since before Confederation, has been known as the Department of Public Works. The work of the Department is divided into three principal branches, viz., the Engineering Branch, the Architect's Branch and the Telegraph Branch.

Engineering.—The Engineering Branch conducts the construction and repair of wharves, piers, breakwaters, dams, weirs, bank and beach protection works; the improvement of harbours and rivers by dredging; the construction, operation and maintenance of dredging plant and the construction, operation and maintenance of graving or dry docks; the construction and maintenance of interprovincial bridges and approaches thereto, also the construction, operation and maintenance of bridges with movable spans on certain highways; hydrographical and topographical surveys that are required for the preparation of plans, reports and estimates; test borings for the purpose of ascertaining the nature of foundations; the testing of cements and materials of construction; the licensing of international and interprovincial ferries; and the control of works constructed in or over navigable waters by authority of the Navigable Waters Protection Act (R.S.C., 1927, c. 140).

<sup>\*</sup> Revised by J. M. Somerville, Secretary, Department of Public Works.